In the coming weeks, WhatsApp will be displaying a banner on WhatsApp that will give people more information than they can read at their own pace. They have included more information to address and resolve the issues we have heard.
WhatsApp gives users enough time to review changes in their step and convenience also they have extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t approved it, WhatsApp will not delete your account.
However, you will not have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you agree. In a short time, you can receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the app.
You have the following options:
- You can still receive updates after May 15. Our policy applies to inactive users.
- Before May 15th, you can export your chat history on your Android or iPhone and download your account report. If you want to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS, we hope you will reconsider. This will erase your message history, remove you from all your WhatsApp groups and delete your WhatsApp backups so that we can not reverse.
- If you need any assistance in downloading your account report or deleting your account, you can contact us here.