Google Nearby Share now allows sharing installed applications

by Ashish

There are already a number of third-party services available for sharing files and apps. To share apps with other Android users need to download a sharing app first. But Google has made this easy by adding an inbuilt sharing functionality called nearby share.

This feature allows users to share files without the need for any app. And now the company has also added the app sharing function on the nearby share. This feature is the same as the AirDrop functionality offered by Apple for iOS devices.

The nearby share feature is available on devices running Android 6.0 or later. To share app using the nearby share open the Play Store app. Search for the new ‘Share’ tab next to library if it is available on your device. Select the share tab and then you’ll be able to choose the apps you want to share.

After choosing apps it will ask for the location permission, then if you opt to send the apps then you will be taken to the list of all your installed apps. Select the app you want to send and then click on the green button at the top right corner.

Join us on Telegram

Lastly, your phone will begin to search for nearby devices and if you choose to receive you’ll see an interface telling ‘waiting for sender’.To easily share files and without using any third-party app, just follow these steps:

Step 1: Open the file that you want to share and hit the share icon on your phone, then you will find the Nearby Share option if your device is running on Android 6+.

Step 2: Now a new interface will be opened and wants your permission to turn on Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and GPS. After you will allow them, the device will start searching for nearby Android phones. A notable thing is that you have to follow the same steps on your receiver device for a successful file sharing.

Step 3: You can also change the visibility of your device’s visibility to all after clicking the Nearby Share option. When your device detects the nearby device, the second device will also get notifies and you will see that person’s name on your device. Both the devices just need to give permission to share the file.

(Via)

Related Posts

Leave a Comment